The Resource Module introduces some important concepts.
For historical reasons the module’s technical name is
The User concept stores the details of the user accounts for the people who use Tryton. Each user is identified by their login name which must be unique. The login name is used when logging in to Tryton, along with other authentication data, such as their password.
It also contains a set of other properties that let you store additional information about the user, such as their name, email address, and language.
Users can belong to Groups which define, amongst other things, their access rights. They have a list of User Applications that are linked to the account, and a set of actions that are run when the user next logs in.
Once a user has been created they cannot be deleted, only deactivated. This is to preserve data integrity and ensure history is not lost.
Email Reset Password#
The Email Reset Password report provides the contents of the email that is sent to the User when their password is reset. It provides information about how they can go about setting a new password.
The User Config wizard is run from the module configuration wizard after the Resource Module is activated. It prompts the User into creating one, or more, standard user accounts.
The Groups concept is used to gather together Users and make it easy to manage what data they can see, and what actions they can perform.
Each group is made up of a set of users. Each of these user’s Access Rights are affected by the access permissions defined for the group.
Keys that are validated allow the associated user application to use the endpoints defined for that user application on behalf of the user.
The Login Attempt concept is used to track and limit login attempts from IP addresses and networks.
It is configured using settings from the
[session] section of the
The concept of a User Device allows the server to keep track of devices from which a user has successfully logged in. This is done using a device cookie. It allows the server to distinguish between connection attempts from trusted and untrusted devices and react accordingly.
The user Warning concept is used to record whether a user wants to see a specific warning again.